Home  |   My Account  |   Dealer Locator  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |  
Home > WHAT'S NEW > Latest News  > Cody King TQ's & Wins 2013 Kyosho Buggy Classic!
Cody King TQ's & Wins 2013 Kyosho Buggy Classic!
The 2013 Kyosho Buggy Classic was held this past weekend at Revelation Raceway in Ontario, CA. This annual 1-day event was also combined with Rev's Toys for Tots Drive that would bring in just under 100 entries! With perfect weather conditions all day, it made for a great day of racing! 
 Try Me Track
Two 5-minute qualifiers would be ran using the Rocket Round format. This would take each drivers single fastest run to determine the overall qualifying order.
After qualifying was complete, it was Kyosho Factory Driver Cody King who would take the TQ honors by just 1-second ahead of TLR's Adam Drake. Kyosho's Drew Moller showed good pace in the 2nd round of qualifying to move up to 3rd overall.

The 1/8 Pro Buggy A-Main Event would be the last race of the day and under the lights. At the start of the 25-Minute A-Main, the top 3 drivers were all shuffled to the back of the pack. This left Agama's Jeremy Kortz out front with a huge lead and Mugen's Colin Herzig not too far back in 3rd. At this time King was running 8th and already 10 seconds out of the lead. As the Main Event continued, many of the top drivers began falling out one by one. Drake was out first just after 4-minutes of racing. Then Castellano would suffer from an engine issue close to the 9 minute mark. Next Moller was out at the 13-minute mark with electrical problems and this left the top 3 positions wide open. Meanwhile Cody King had been reeling in on the leaders who he had now caught. King made it by Herzig and then a few laps later by Kortz. King then went on to extend his lead and take the Win by over 12-seconds! Herzig put on a good charge to finish 2nd and Kortz would round out the podium in 3rd.               
1/8 Pro Buggy A-Main Top 12 Overall:
        Driver                  Car Manufacturer
1. Cody King (TQ)      Kyosho MP9 TKI3
2. Colin Herzig                     Mugen
3. Jeremy Kortz                   Agama
4. Colby Poh               Kyosho MP9 TKI3
5. Ricky Racer            Kyosho MP9 TKI3
6. Shaun Kirkman                Team C
7. Sean Gaffney         Kyosho MP9 TKI3
8. Brian Givens          Kyosho MP9 TKI3
9. Ronda Drake                      TLR
10. Drew Moller        Kyosho MP9 TKI3
11. Matt Castellano  Kyosho MP9 TKI3
12. Adam Drake                     TLR
Congrats also goes out to Privateer Ryan Reese for taking home the Win in the 1/8 Open Buggy Class with his Kyosho MP9 TKI3!
Thanks for coming! We hope to see everyone again next year!
Thanks to JP for the race report.