Home  |   My Account  |   Dealer Locator  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |  
Home > WHAT'S NEW > Latest News  > Jared Tebo & Kyosho RT6 Mid-Motor Win @ 2014 Cactus Classic!
Jared Tebo & Kyosho RT6 Mid-Motor Win @ 2014 Cactus Classic!
The 28th Annual Cactus Classic was held March 12th-16th at HobbyTown USA SRS in Scottsdale, Arizona. This years event would once again bring in many of the top drivers from around the country as well as a few international drivers. The race program was run perfectly by World Famous Race Announcer Scotty Ernst who kept the race program running smooth all week.  Like in years past, the weather was absolutely perfect with temperatures in the lower 80's. The total race entries for this years event reached over 350!
Race Schedule:

Wednesday, March 12th: Open Practice
Thursday, March 13th: 2 Controlled Rounds of Timed Seeding Practice
Friday, March 14th: 2 Rounds of Qualifying
Saturday, March 15th: 2 Rounds of Qualifying
Sunday, March 16th: Triple A-Main Events
Modified Truck
Kyosho's Star Driver, Jared Tebo was on another level in qualifying where he would TQ all 4 rounds to take the overall TQ. Kyosho would also be represented by 2 other drivers in the A-Main: Young talent Mitchel Gardner would qualify 6th and Kyosho America Team Manager Joe Pillars would qualify 9th for the Triple A-Mains.
After a rough A-Main #1, Tebo rebounded nicely in A-Main #2 to take the Win. The championship would come down to the 3rd and final A-Main. Tebo and Neumann would battle it out early in the race before Neumann was forced to retire early. This gave Tebo a big gap on the field where he could cruise home for the Win and take the overall Modified Truck Championship with his Team Orion powered RT6!


Tebo would complete the look of his truck with the NEW J-Concepts Finnisher RT6 Mid-Motor Truck Body.

(Part #0269) This body is set to be released by J-Concepts within the next 2 weeks.
Modified Truck Overall Finishing Order:

        Driver                          Manufacturer

1.   Jared Tebo               Kyosho RT6 Mid-Motor

2.   Jorn Neumann                   Durango

3.   Billy Fischer                             AE

4.   Ryan Cavalieri                         AE

5.   Mitchel Gardner     Kyosho RT6 Mid-Motor

6.   Tanner Denney                       AE

7.   Steven Hartson                       AE

8.   Joe Pillars                 Kyosho RT6 Mid-Motor

9.   Scott Spear                              AE

10. Brian Kinwald                          AE       

 Winning Equipment Used By Jared Tebo:

30069B Kyosho RT6

ORI65102 Team Orion Vortex R10 Pro ESC

ORI28258 Team Orion VST2 6.5 Brushless Motor

ORI30187 Team Orion Advantage Touch Charger

ORI14048 Team Orion Carbon Pro 5500 90C Saddle Pack Li-Po Battery

Geared: 18/82


*A big congrats goes out to Kyosho Team Driver Jason Dias for taking the impressive Win in the 2wd Stock Short Course Class with his Kyosho SC-R SP!
Thanks to JP for the race report!