Home  |   My Account  |   Dealer Locator  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |  
Home > WHAT'S NEW > Latest News  > McBride & Kyosho Win Big @ 2014 Silver State!
McBride & Kyosho Win Big @ 2014 Silver State!
The 2014 Silver State Nitro Challenge was held just 30 minutes outside of the bright lights of Las Vegas, in Boulder City, NV. This years event was held April 10th-13th with scorching temperatures reaching into the 90's all week long. Kyosho would be very well represented this year with: Jared Tebo, Kyle McBride, Cody King, Yuichi Kanai, Colby Poh, Anthony Howarth, Monty Houston, and Taylor Timmerman.

Thursday, April 10th: 2 Rounds of Controlled Practice
Friday, April 11th: 2 Rounds of Qualifying
Saturday, April 12th: 1 Round of Qualifying & Lower Main Bump-Ups to B-Mains
Sunday, April 13th: B-Main Bump-Ups & A-Main Events
Pro Nitro Buggy Qualifying
Kyosho's Jared Tebo was on-fire in qualifying and would take the TQ honors! Cody King would start 4th and Kyle McBride 5th.
Pro Nitro Buggy A-Main Event
The Pro Nitro Buggy A-Main Event would be a 45-minute battle of survival with very rough track conditions and gusty winds. Throughout the first half of the A-Main, it was Kyosho's Jared Tebo and Hot Bodies Ty Tessman setting the fast pace. Kyosho's Kyle McBride would suffer from a bad start but began quickly coming through the field with good line choices and would eventually catch the leaders. The next couple minutes McBride was able to work his way by for the lead and would never look back. The battle would then be for 2nd between Tessman and Tebo. When the checkered flag waived, it was Kyosho's Kyle McBride crossing the finish line first with his MP9 TKI3! Hot Bodies Ty Tessman would finish 2nd and Kyosho's Jared Tebo would round out the podium in 3rd putting 2 Kyosho's in the Top 3!
Pro Nitro Buggy Top 13 Overall Finishing Order:
        Driver                      Manufacturer
1. Kyle McBride           Kyosho MP9 TKI3
2. Ty Tessman                      Hot Bodies
3. Jared Tebo (TQ)     Kyosho MP9 TKI3
4. Carson Wernimont               Mugen
5. Drew Moller                        Mugen
6. Josh Wheeler                       X-Ray
7. Cody King                 Kyosho MP9 TKI3   
8. Dylan Rodriguez                Hot Bodies
9. Ryan Lutz                           Durango
10. Cody Smith                       Mugen
11. Adam Drake                       TLR
12. Mike Truhe                       Serpent
13. Ryan Maifield                       AE
Open Nitro Buggy
In the Open Buggy Class it was Kyosho's Colby Poh who put in a great performance during qualifying to start 2nd. Colby then went onto Win the 30-Minute A-Main Event in dominating fashion by leading every lap and being the only driver to get by for the 50th lap! 2nd place went to Mugen's Coling Herzig that finished over 20-seconds back from Poh, and 3rd place went to AE's Jason Miller.
Open Nitro Buggy Top 3 Overall Finishing Order:
        Driver              Manufacturer
1. Colby Poh       Kyosho MP9 TKI3
2. Colin Herzig                Mugen
3. Jason Miller                   AE
*Congrats goes out to Kyosho's Jared Tebo for an impressive weekend being the only driver to finish on the podium in all 3 Pro Classes! 3nd in Pro Nitro Buggy, 2nd in Pro Electric Buggy, and 2nd in Pro Nitro Truggy!
*Congrats also goes out to Kyosho's Colby Poh for bumping out the the B-Main and into the Pro Truggy A-Main Event!
*Congrats to MP9 Designer and former World Champion Yuichi Kanai for finishing 2nd overall in the 40+ Truggy Class!